Star Trek Writers Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman Nominated For WGA Screenplay Award

Star Trek has picked up another guild award nomination today, and it is a big one. Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman have been nominated by the Writer’s Guild of America for Best Adapted Screenplay. And the pair have already given TrekMovie a statement about the honor.


Orci and Kurtzman nominated for WGA Award
Like the Oscars, the WGA split their writing nominations into original and adapted. Star Trek falls into the adapted category because the characters are based on the TV show. Here is the full list of nominees from the WGA site.


Crazy Heart, Screenplay by Scott Cooper; Based on the novel by Thomas Cobb; Fox Searchlight

Julie & Julia, Screenplay by Nora Ephron; Based on the books Julie & Julia by Julie Powell and My Life in France by Julia Child with Alex Prud’homme; Sony Pictures

Precious: Based on the novel Push by Sapphire, Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher; Based on the novel Push by Sapphire; Lionsgate

Star Trek, Written by Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman; Based upon Star Trek, Created by Gene Roddenberry; Paramount Pictures

Up in the Air, Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner; Based upon the novel by Walter Kirn; Paramount Pictures

For original screenplay, the writers for 500 Days of Summer, Avatar, The Hangover, The Hurt Locker, and A Serious Man were nominated.

I spoke to Bob minutes after the announcement and he said that he and Alex had a statement, in their usual humble tone:

Our statement is in the form of a quote from Cato the Elder, "I would much rather have men ask why I have no statue, than why I have one."

This is the second time the writing team of Orci and Kurtzman have been nominated by the WGA. Last year the pair were nominated (along with JJ Abrams) in TV original long form category for the pilot of Fringe, but lost out to the HBO movie Recount.

Orci and Kurtzman aren’t the only members of the new Trek ‘Supreme Court’ to have a WGA nomination this year. Star Trek producer Damon Lindelof and the writing staff of Lost were nominated for Best TV Drama Series.

Sort by:   newest | oldest