Star Trek Into Darkness Shut Out At Saturn Awards – TNG Wins For Blu-ray


Thursday night in Burbank was the last stop in awards season, with the 40th Saturn Awards – honoring the best in science fiction and fantasy. Last summer’s Star Trek Into Darkness went into the night with five nominations, but got shut out. There were also more Trek-related winners and losers at the Saturns. Details below.

Into Darkness falls to Gravity at the Saturn Awards

The 40th awards show for the Academy of Science-Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films was held tonight in Burbank, CA. JJ Abrams’ 2013 feature Star Trek Into Darkness was nominated for five Saturn Awards, but wasn’t triumphant in any of its categories. The big winner of the night was Warner Bros Gravity starring Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. The film picked up five awards, three of which were in categories with Into Darkness. The table below details the results.

Into Darkness Nomination Winner
Best Science Fiction Film Gravity
Best Director:
J.J. Abrams
Alfanso Cuoron
– Gravity
Best Special/Visual Effects:
Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossman, Burt Dalton
Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, Neil Corbould
– Gravity
Best Supporting Actor:
Benedict Cumberbatch
Ben Kingsley
– Iron Man 3
Best Costume:
Michael Kaplan
Trish Summerville
– The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Into Darkness isn’t the first Trek film to get shut out at the Saturns. All the Star Trek films with the exception of Star Trek V: The Final Frontier received Saturn nominations ranging from two (Generations) to ten (The Motion Picture and First Contact). Four Trek films picked up one award at the Saturns (Motion Picture, The Voyage Home, The Undiscovered Country and 2009’s Star Trek.). Wrath of Khan took  home two and First Contact has the record with three wins.

The Saturn Awards marks the end to ‘award season.’ All in all Into Darkness was nominated for three People’s Choice Awards, three Film Critics’ Awards two Teen Choice Awards, an Academy Award, a BAFTA, an MTV Movie Award, an Empire Award along with some guild technical awards…none of which it won. So far the only awards won were a Britannia Award for Benedict Cumberbatch, a Satellite Award for the Blu-ray release, and a Hollywood Movie Award for JJ Abrams, plus one silver and two bronze awards at the Key Art Awards (for a trailer and the Star Trek app).

Star Trek Voyager star Robert Picardo presenting Saturn Award for Best Makeup Effects (photo @WarnerArchive)

Star Trek TNG Blu-rays win again + Trek nonfic author honored

And for the second year in a row, CBS Home Entertainment won the for Best DVD or Blu-ray TV Series for Star Trek The Next Generation (Seasons 3, 4 and 5). Last year they won for Seasons 1 and 2. TNG beat out releases for The Adventures of Superboy (Season 3), Search (The Complete Series), Under the Dome (Season 1), The Walking Dead (Season 3), and The White Queen (Season 1).

Author Marc Cushman received a Special Recognition Award for his two recent Star Trek books "These are the Voyages: TOS: Season One" and "These are the Voyages: TOS: Season Two," which detail the making of the original Star Trek series and cover the making and development of each episode. This project took six years of research to complete. The third book (Season 3) will be published later this year.

Mark Altman presenting Marc Cushman special award for his Star Trek non-fiction(photo Geek Magazine)

Fuller & McDowell Pick Up Special Awards + Fuller shares TV award with Bad Robot

A number of Star Trek alumni were up for awards and some were also getting special honors. Actor Malcolm McDowell (Soran in Star Trek: Generations), picked up the Life Career Award. And Star Trek Voyager and Deep Space Nine writing/producing vet Bryan Fuller was honored with the Dan Curtis Legacy Award.

McDowell receiving his Lifetime Award – presented by Lance Henricksen (photo Loretta Ramos)

In addition, Fuller’s latest series Hannibal was up for four awards, and took home two, including tying for Best Network Television series with the now-cancelled Revolution (produced by Star Trek producers JJ Abrams and Bryan Burk). One of the shows Hannibal beat was Sleepy Hollow (from producers Bob Orci and Alex Kurtzman). The Orci/Kurtzman produced sci-fi film Ender’s Game was also up for three awards, but came home empty handed. Also shut-out was The World’s End, which was up for three awards including Best Actor and Best Writer for Simon Pegg.

Fuller receiving his Legacy Award (photo Loretta Ramos)

Full list of winners is available at

Sort by:   newest | oldest