‘Star Trek: Lower Decks’ And ‘Star Trek: Picard’ Nominated For NAACP Image Awards

Today the NAACP announced the nominees for the 52nd Image Awards, honoring outstanding performances in film, television, music, and literature. And for the first time in decades, Star Trek shows are on the list, with a total of three nominations.

2 nominations for Lower Decks

Star Trek: Lower Decks picked up a pair of nominations. The show itself is nominated for Outstanding Animated Series, going up against Big Mouth (Netflix), Central Park (Apple TV+), Doc McStuffins (Disney Junior), and She-Ra and the Princesses of Power (Netflix).

Dawnn Lewis (Captain Freeman) was also nominated for Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance. She is going up against Aisha Tyler (Archer on FX), Courtney B. Vance (Hollywood’s Architect: The Paul R. Williams Story on PBS), Deon Cole (Kipo and the Age of Wonderbeasts on Netflix), and Laya DeLeon Hayes (Doc McStuffins on Disney Junior).

Dawnn Lewis from Comic-Con @Home 2020

Culpepper nominated for Picard

Director Hanelle Culpepper was nominated for Outstanding Directing in a Drama Series for the series premiere of Star Trek: Picard “Remembrance.” She is going up against Cheryl Dunye (Lovecraft Country – “Strange Case” on HBO), Misha Green (Lovecraft Country – “Jig-a-Bobo” on HBO), Nzingha Stewart (Little Fires Everywhere – “The Uncanny” on Hulu), and Steve McQueen (Small Axe – “Mangrove” on Amazon ).

Director Hanelle Culpepper on the Star Trek set

First Image nominations since 1997

Star Trek: The Original Series won an Image Award at the first ceremony, held in 1967. Since then Nichelle Nichols was nominated for her role in Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home, Avery Brooks received two nominations for his work on Deep Space Nine, and Alfre Woodard was nominated for her supporting role in Star Trek: First Contact. This year’s three nominations are the first for the franchise since 1997.


Voting is now open to the public on www.naacpimageawards.net.

This year’s virtual Image Awards will take place on Saturday, March 27, 2021, at 8 pm ET/PT broadcast live during a two-hour special airing on BET.

Find more Star Trek Universe news and analysis at TrekMovie.com.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

That’s a tough award, if Avery Brooks didn’t win. Mr. Brooks is one of the better talents to grace a Trek production. Congratulations to all the nominees, and good luck.

If you think representation doesn’t matter, Starship Troopers was on one of the cable channels over the weekend. The whiteness of the universe was pretty conspicuous in that production….

That fascist universe. The whiteness is kind of the point, no?

Well you go tell all of the Asian countries that they need to show diversity too, and to allow mass immigration to diversify their societies.

Your whataboutism is showing.

Got moron?

Just what is the price of rice in China?

I agree.

I thought that was done intentionally by Verhoeven to show the absurdity of the situation.


I think Hanelle Culpepper did an excellent job with the Picard premiere. It was very cinematically done and I would have loved to see the 3 episodes as a single feature length film. I think it would have made people appreciate those early episodes more.

Agreed! She did an amazing job with the premiere and was the right choice to do it. Those opening episodes brought me back to Star Trek I haven’t felt since Voyager went off the air.

ST: LD is excellent and should win all the awards.