Complete Star Trek IV Score CD Announced

To mark this year’s 25th anniversary of the release of Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home, Intrada has just announced the upcoming release of the complete score of the film, including previously unreleased cues, alternative cues, new liner notes and more. See below for details.


Complete Score of Star Trek IV coming soon

Intrada has announced they will be releasing  Leonard Rosenman’s complete score to the 1986 film Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home. While a soundtrack was released back in 1986, this new CD will be the first complete score. For this release, Intrada worked from the original session masters housed at Paramount, reassembling the complete score in film order. This presentation also includes numerous bonus tracks, and alternates including the an alternate version of the "Main Title" using an arrangement of Alexander Courage’s classic Star Trek theme.

From the official description:

Complete Intrada CD restoration offers full score with previously unreleased cues, versions appearing on 1986 MCA album plus several alternates including Rosenman’s unused take on famous Alexander Courage TV theme. Fun to hear Rosenman’s own signature brass "pyramid" at climax of Courage’s melody! CD even includes wild "I Hate You" by Kirk Thatcher, Mark Mangini that annoys Star Trek crew on San Francsico bus ride. Production by Lukas Kendall, mix & assembly by Mike Matessino plus definitive liner notes by Jeff Bond round out stellar package, itself designed by Joe Sikoryak to comfortably fit in with other STAR TREK feature soundtrack restorations. Leonard Rosenman conducts.


Track list:

01. Logo/Main Title† 2:52 Hear This Track
02. Starfleet Command/On Vulcan/
Spock/Ten Seconds of Tension 1:40 Hear This Track
03. The Probe 1:16
04. The Probe—Transition/The Take-Off/
Menace of the Probe/Clouds and Water/Crew Stunned 3:08 Hear This Track
05. Time Travel 1:28
06. Market Street* 4:38
07. In San Francisco 2:01
08. Chekov’s Run 1:21 Hear This Track
09. Gillian Seeks Kirk 2:42
10. Hospital Chase 1:14
11. The Whaler 2:00 Hear This Track
12. Crash/Whale Fugue 8:38
13. Kirk Freed 0:44
14. Home Again†/End Credits 5:39 Hear This Track
Total Score Time: 40:06

15. Ballad of the Whale* 4:59
16. Main Title† (alternate) 2:56 Hear This Track
17. Time Travel (alternate) 1:29
18. Chekov’s Run (album ending) 1:19
19. The Whaler (alternate) 2:05
20. Crash/Whale Fugue (album track) 8:15
21. Home Again† and End Credits (alternate) 5:16
22. Main Title† (album track) 2:40
23. Whale Fugue (alternate) 1:05
24. I Hate You** (contains explicit lyrics) 1:59
Total Extras Time: 32:32

The complete Star Trek IV score comes out later in December. You can listen to sample clips and order yours at

Sort by:   newest | oldest